A chat with Kaila Prins, ex-orthorexia sufferer turned wellness coach (Part 1)

Kaila Prins profile

At some points in her life, Kaila Prins has been a vegan, a fitness/figure competitor wannabe, a strict Paleo devotee and an emotional eater with disordered eating habits. For 13 years, she struggled with anorexia, orthorexia, EDNOS (eating disorder not otherwise specified) and exercise addiction.

Sounds crazy? It is. But known eating disorders affect approximately 9% of the Australian population and that’s not even counting those who are affected by orthorexia (there are limited official stats on orthorexia).

“Fact: You don’t have to have an eating disorder to be a disordered eater”

– Kaila Prins (on her blog In My Skinny Genes)

Kaila Prins, otherwise known as Miss Skinny Genes, once suffered from orthorexia but is now a wellness coach
Kaila Prins, otherwise known as Miss Skinny Genes, once suffered from orthorexia but is now a wellness coach

But today, Kaila Prins has left that life behind. She now blogs at In My Skinny Genes and does regular (free!) podcast on Finding Our Hunger to support and encourage others who are on their own journey of recovery from disordered eating. What an inspiration!

We sat down with Kaila to talk about she left orthorexia behind.

Kaila, please tell us how you ventured into the murky territory that is orthorexia.

KP: My journey into orthorexia started before Instagram and food blogs. It started “innocently”. My legs were breaking out in hives at summer camp, and my mom thought I might be allergic to soy. I had to learn how to read nutrition labels, because, as I discovered that summer, soy is in pretty much all processed food.

I cut out almost everything that came in a box and also became fearful of eating at restaurants, because I couldn’t control what was in my meals. I began eating only at home and bringing “safe” food with me to parties and when I was out with my friends.

Did anyone comment on your eating habits?

KP: People were mostly commenting on how healthy I was, how great I looked, and how they wished they could be like me as I lost weight. Because of that I fell into an eating disordered mindset and ended up anorexic, cutting out more and more foods, restricting my calories etc.

So you’ve gone through the cycle of recovery and relapse multiple times?

KP: Yes. I maintained my “healthy” persona throughout my recovery and subsequent relapse and recovery—because everyone praised me for how clean I was eating and how much they wanted my willpower.

I had found Oxygen and Clean Eating Magazine, which introduced me to the world of clean eating as an almost religious dogma. Eventually, it got to the point where I couldn’t eat unhealthy food even if I tried because it was too horrifying a thought.

How did your dietary restriction affect your quality of life?

KP: My restriction had serious negative effects. I became increasingly isolated, anxious, and depressed. I relapsed with my eating disorder and began to threaten suicide. I dropped out of grad school and had to move back in with my mom.

“Eventually, it got to the point where I couldn’t eat unhealthy food even if I tried because it was too horrifying a thought.” – Kaila Prins

This is part 1 of the interview, click here for Part 2 of the interview where Kaila shares about the turning point in her life and how she started to change her life for the better…

Not sure if you are just being health conscious or bordering on being orthorexic? Here’s a helpful list of symptoms to help you identify.

READ THIS NEXT: Why orthorexia is more than just a first world problem

Do you have any questions about orthorexia? Questions for Kaila? Ask them in the comment box below!

Check out Facebook page Fed Up With Food for funny memes, chat with us on Twitter @imfedupwithfood and follow us on Instagram @iamfedupwithfood.


6 thoughts on “A chat with Kaila Prins, ex-orthorexia sufferer turned wellness coach (Part 1)

  1. Eating Disorders often result in the same actions caused by starvation or being unable to access proper nutrition. This is an issue which people cannot overlook as it has both detrimental effects on a person’s life and their futures.

    Like

Leave a comment